Scope of the Conference

The pdf of this CFP.

The IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS) is the premier conference in the area of real-time systems, presenting innovations in the field with respect to theory and practice. RTSS provides a forum for the presentation of high-quality, original research covering all aspects of real-time systems design, analysis, implementation, evaluation, and experiences. RTSS’15 continues the trend of making RTSS an expansive and inclusive symposium, looking to embrace new and emerging areas of realtime systems research.

RTSS’15 welcomes submissions in all areas of real-time systems, including but not limited to operating systems, networks, middleware, compilers, tools, modeling, scheduling, QoS support, resource management, testing and debugging, design and verification, hardware/software co-design, fault tolerance, security, power and thermal management, embedded platforms, and system experimentation and deployment experiences.

In addition to the main real-time track, we will continue the successful format of previous years with three specialized tracks:

  • Cyber-Physical Systems
  • Wireless Sensor Networks
  • HW-SW integration and system level design

Details of each track can be found in the Track Descriptions.

Although authors will choose which tracks to submit papers to, a paper may be redirected to a more appropriate track. All papers will appear in the main program and proceedings. Papers in all tracks must address topics related to real-time systems.

Paper Submission Guidelines

All papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format, following the IEEE conference proceedings format and must describe original work not previously published or concurrently. The main body of each submitted paper is limited to 10 pages. Additionally, each submission may include an optional appendix with supplemental material that will be read at the discretion of the program committee; this appendix is limited to two pages (for 12 pages total). Authors of accepted papers that exceed 10 pages (due to the inclusion of an optional appendix) will be required to pay a fee for each page beyond the tenth. Submissions (including the optional appendix) must be formatted according to IEEE conference paper guidelines.

Submissions can be made using softconf at

Important Dates

May 15, 2015FIRM Submission Deadline at 11.59pm, May 15, Time zone: UTC-12 (equivalent to Central Daylight Time 6:59am, May 16, 2015)
July 20, 2015 – Notification of Acceptance
August 31, 2015 – Camera-ready Deadline
December 1, 2015 – Workshops
December 2 to December 4, 2015 – Symposium

Organizing Committee

General Chair:
Chris Gill, Washington University in St. Louis

Ex-Officio (TC Chair):
Steve Goddard, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Finance Chair:
Karl-Erik Arzen, Lund University

Local Arrangements Chair:
Dakai Zhu, University of Texas at San Antonio

Program Chair:
Marco Caccamo, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Track Chairs:
Main Track: Marco Caccamo, UIUC
Cyber-Physical Systems: Xue Liu, Mc Gill
Wireless Sensor Networks: Rahul Mangharam, UPENN
HW-SW integration and system level design: Jian-Jia Chen, TU Dortmund

Publicity Chairs:
Cong Liu, UT Dallas
Jinkyu Lee, Sungkyunkwan University
Björn Brandenburg, Max Planck Institute