Work In Progress Program

  • Deferred Start: A Non-Work-Conserving Model for P-FRP Fixed Priority Task Scheduling
    Xingliang Zou, Albert M. K. Cheng and Yu Jiang
  • Real-Time Support in the Proposal for Fine-Grained Parallelism in Ada
    Luis Miguel Pinho, Brad Moore, Stephen Michell and S. Tucker Taft
  • Using Entropy as a Parameter to Schedule Real-Time Tasks
    Carlos A. Rincón C. and Albert M. K. Cheng
  • A Time-Predictable Model of Computation
    Anoop Bhagyanath and Klaus Schneider
  • Energy-aware Task Allocation onto Unrelated Heterogeneous Multicore Platform for Mixed Criticality Systems
    Muhammad Ali Awan, Damien Masson and Eduardo Tovar
  • Towards realistic core-failure-resilient scheduling and analysis
    Borislav Nikolić and Konstantinos Bletsas
  • Semi-Partitioning under a Blocking-Aware Task Allocation
    Sara Afshar, Moris Behnam and Thomas Nolte
  • Hardware optimizations for anytime perception and control
    Nischal K.N., Paritosh Kelkar, Dhruva Kumar, Yash Vardhan Pant, Houssam Abbas, Joseph Devietti and Rahul Mangharam

Call for Papers

Submissions of extended abstracts describing exciting new, in-progress, and/or experimental research are invited for the Work-in-Progress (WIP) session of the 2015 IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS). The WiP session is devoted to the presentation of new and on-going research in real-time systems, theory, and applications. The primary purpose of the WiP session is to provide researchers with an opportunity to discuss their evolving ideas and gather feedback from the real-time community at large. Of particular interest are ideas and contributions that present significant paradigm shifts, explore unique and unconventional approaches to important problems, or investigate fundamental departures from conventional wisdom in adopted solutions. WiP topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Adaptive systems theory and practice
  • Architectural support
  • Case studies
  • Compiler support
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Design and Verification
  • Embedded systems
  • Energy management
  • Formal methods
  • Model-based development
  • Multicore real-time support
  • Multi-criticality analysis and support
  • Multimedia computing
  • Performance modeling
  • QoS support
  • Real-time and dependability
  • Real-time databases
  • Real-time programming languages
  • Real-time sensor/actuator networks
  • Real-time systems middleware
  • Scheduling algorithms
  • Security and survivability
  • Software engineering
  • System development tools
  • Systems integration
  • Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Worst-case execution time estimation

The RTSS 2015 WiP session will be held during the symposium. Accepted submissions will be included in a separate RTSS WiP Proceedings, which will be distributed to all RTSS symposium participants and will be available electronically from the RTSS home page. In addition, as of this year, for each accepted submission a 1-page poster abstract will be included in the main RTSS proceedings. One author of every accepted paper should be registered to the conference and present the paper during the conference. All WiP projects will be presented orally and in a poster session.

Submission Instructions

Each submission should consist of two parts:

  1. a 1-page Poster Abstract with a title starting with “Poster Abstract” followed by a colon before the title of the work (e.g., “Poster Abstract: Name of RTSS WiP Abstract”),
  2. a maximum 4-page Extended Abstract submission describing original on-going work.

These two abstracts should be combined into a single pdf document, and thus the length of submitted documents should NOT exceed 5 (five) pages including references and figures – submissions exceeding 5 pages will not be reviewed.

The 1-page Poster Abstracts will be published in the main RTSS proceedings and the 4-page Extended Abstracts will be published in the RTSS WiP proceedings.

Papers should be formatted as single-space, double-column (normal IEEE format), in a 10 point font. Templates are available at:

The paper submission page can be found at:

Important Dates

Deadline: August 29, 2015 – Submission of Abstracts
September 20, 2015 – Notification of Acceptance
September 27, 2015 – Camera-ready Submission

Program Committee

Miroslav Pajic, Duke University, USA (Chair)
Stanley Bak, Air Force Research Lab, USA
Björn Brandenburg, MPI-SWS, Germany
Arvind Easwaran, NTU, Singapore
Jinkyu Lee, Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea
Vincent Nelis, CISTER/ISEP, Portugal
Linh Thi Xuan Phan, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Jan Reineke, Saarland University, Germany
Abusayeed Saifullah, Missouri University of Science & Technology, USA
Heechul Yun, University of Kansas, USA